#### Board Meeting - January 8, 2018 - Page 1

A Regular Meeting of the Bryan City School District Board of Education was held on Monday, January 8, 2018 at 7:10 PM at the Bryan Elementary School, Room 115 following the Organizational meeting.

## ATTENDANCE

The Board Members present at roll call were Scott Benedict, Cindra Keeler, Tom Lingvai, Deb Opdycke, and Mike Stockman.

Administrators present were: Diana Savage, Rob Rosswurm, Mark Rairigh, and Karyn Cox. Guests in attendance included: Char Miller of Bryan Municipal Utilities, Josh Ewers of The Bryan Times, and Barry Forbes.

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

# Exhibit A 06-18

Deb Opdycke moved and Mike Stockman seconded a motion to approve the minutes of the December 18, 2017 regular board meeting.

Roll Call ~ Ayes: Keeler, Lingvai, Opdycke, Stockman, and Benedict. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Thereupon, President declared the motion duly approved.

#### PUBLIC PARTICIPATION NONE

# COMMUNICATIONS

Four County Career Center School Board Report

Mrs. Keeler reported:

- Congratulations to Bryan student Morgan Street who place 4<sup>th</sup> at the fall IT Scholarship test in Lima. Morgan is in the Network Administration Cyber Security program and received a \$3,000.00 scholarship.
- Larry Fruth was named Four County Board President for 2018.

# TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer presented the financial report for the month of December, 2017 with the Farmers & Merchants State Bank balance of \$3,150,879.16; outstanding checks and adjustments of \$49,398.98; Star Ohio \$3,281,616.24; State Bank \$6,184.407.09; Morgan Stanley \$5,687,300.39, Petty Cash: Rob Rosswurm \$500.00, and Eric Ruffer \$4,000.00 and Change Funds \$2,900.00. Total Treasurer's balance \$18,262,203.90.

#### FINANCIAL RECOMMENDATIONS 07-18 Deb Opdycke moved and Cindra Keeler seconded a motion to approve the following recommendations:

Amended Appropriations for fiscal year 2017: As per exhibit

Approval to transfer \$1,875.47 from the Permanent Improvement fund to the Locally Funded Initiative MOU Construction/PI fund

**Construction Change Order** As per exhibit

Donations: \$100 from Newlyn Quest Club to National Honor Society

Roll Call ~ Ayes: Lingvai, Opdycke, Stockman, Benedict, and Keeler. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Thereupon, President declared the motion duly approved.

# **OLD BUSINESS**

Transportation Update:

Mrs. Savage reported that two new bus drivers are currently working on their certification. The one final route in the city will be filled this week.

# SUPERINTENDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS

Scott Benedict moved and Mike Stockman seconded a motion to approve the following recommendations:

Exhibit E

08-18

Exhibit D

Exhibit B

## Board Meeting – January 8, 2018 – Page 2

#### <u>Set 2018 High School Summer School rates at \$100.00 per course</u>: Courses to be offered include HS Physical Education, HS Health and HS Oral Communications

#### BCS Job Descriptions

Roll Call ~ Ayes: Opdycke, Stockman, Benedict, Keeler, and Lingvai. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Thereupon, President declared the motion duly approved.

09-18

Exhibit F

#### Cindra Keeler moved and Scott Benedict seconded a motion to approve the following commendations:

School Board Member Recognition: Service in 2017

Student Commendations:

Bryan Elementary:

*Character Trait Student Commendations- Gratitude-* Ivan Brehm, Zaidyn Brodock, Carson-Daniel Stickney, Nola O'Dell, Colby Beltran, Sawyer Hutchinson, Hayden Motter, Lily Chernoval, Scarlet Cook, Jason Kendrick, Sadie Martinez, Ryann Eickhoff, Hayden Donato, Bram Giese, Nathan Laws, Aiden Sparks, Brylie Kreais, AJ Grant, Bristol Dominique, Ariana Fuller, Felicity Thiel, Hunter Hancock, Parker Salyers, Ruby Wright, Kiara Marino, Jason Jinks, Faith Schaffer, Grace Rachel, Alexis Mojica, Brayleigh Herman, Everett Hug, Nathan Stiers, Jayden Dilyard, Kalieb Gambler, Addalyn Gracia, Addilyn Ward, Kevin Bear, Demetri Davis, Lyla Routen, Reese Ruffer, Wyatt Williams, Troy Nye, Logan Shy, Xavier Ewing, Elijah Harris, Lydia Meeks, Annabelle Nichols, Sawyer Kennedy, Andrew Slagle, Mackenzie Allison, Jason Lirot, Arella Alyanakian, LeeAnn Zigler, Mhykayl Heminger, Piper Hanna, Ethan Fryman, Nole Carpenter, Olivia McClaine, Myah Hernandez, Payton Wehri, Cooper Beltran, Riley Suffel, Mya Federspiel, Cody Shaffer, Kole Batt, Macy Burton, Gage Hartman, Hem Patel, Gabe Ledyard, Kane Nagel, Chloe Spisak, Danica Stiger, Mary Blue, Landon Bassett, Oliver Jones, Noah Widman, Ava Colbert, Danika Pickett

Roll Call ~ Ayes: Stockman, Benedict, Keeler, Lingvai, and Opdycke. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Thereupon, President declared the motion duly approved.

## PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS:

10-18

Deb Opdycke moved and Mike Stockman seconded a motion to approve the following recommendations:

Transfer Classified Personnel:

Adrienne Mojica, 6-12 Classroom/Library Aide, 5.5 hrs/per day, effective 1/2/2018. Ashley McCandless, PK-5 Arrival/Classroom/Recess Aide, 5.5 hrs/per day, effective 1/8/2018.

<u>Salary Schedule Placement:</u> Karen Meister, M+20 level A-1 salary schedule, effective 1/29/2018.

Roll Call ~ Ayes: Benedict, Keeler, Lingvai, Opdycke,, and Stockman. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Thereupon, President declared the motion duly approved.

# POINTS OF INFORMATION

#### Legislative Finance Update

Mrs. Savage reported that SB216 is currently in committee with no action taken yet.

Upcoming Meeting Dates:

Board of Education Work Session – Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 6:00PM Bryan Elementary Building Board of Education Regular Meeting – Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 7:00 PM Bryan Elementary Building LPDC/Master Teacher– TBA

Business Advisory Council – February 15, 2018 7:00 AM – Location TBA

#### Reports from Administrators

- A. Mrs. Cox
- B. Mr. Rairigh

# ADJOURNMENT Cindra Keeler moved and Scott Benedict seconded a motion for adjournment.

Roll Call ~ Ayes: Keeler, Lingvai, Opdycke, Stockman, and Benedict. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Thereupon, President declared the meeting adjourned at 7:33 PM.

President\_\_\_\_\_ Treasurer\_\_\_\_\_